Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Replacemnent Medals

setithefirst

Hiya, now I know the purists among you are going to throw you hands up in disgust but I am new to this game having only just discovered I have an uncle who was KIA during the Great War and I would like copies (plain) of his medals. I have his medal card which says he was awarded the Victory Medal and the British Medal. Roll Number L/105 B20. Page 3367. His details are:-

Lance Corporal John William Welch 37340

2nd Battalion

The Royal Berkshire Regiment.

His death is recorded as 1st August 1917 in the Glencorse Wood area. His body was never identified.

He is remembered on The Menin Gate Memorial Panel 45.

I am certain that his medals were given to his Mother, him not being married, but from then on I have no idea what happened to them.

Cheers

Geoff

Hiya, now I know the purists among you are going to throw you hands up in disgust but I am new to this game having only just discovered I have an uncle who was KIA during the Great War and I would like copies (plain) of his medals. I have his medal card which says he was awarded the Victory Medal and the British Medal. Roll Number L/105 B20. Page 3367. His details are:-

Lance Corporal John William Welch 37340

2nd Battalion

The Royal Berkshire Regiment.

His death is recorded as 1st August 1917 in the Glencorse Wood area. His body was never identified.

He is remembered on The Menin Gate Memorial Panel 45.

I am certain that his medals were given to his Mother, him not being married, but from then on I have no idea what happened to them.

Cheers

Geoff

Replacement medals are no longer available from the MOD, so it will be a case of contacting family members to see if they know of their wherabouts.

Replacement medals are no longer available from the MOD, so it will be a case of contacting family members to see if they know of their wherabouts.

That's torn it Willy, I'm the last one.Geoff