Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

acommodation in ypres area

Guest biscuitmonster

Guest biscuitmonster

hi. could anyone give advice as to where i could find a choice of suitable accommodation for a small group of firefighters (7) who wish to visit WW1 battlefields in the Ypres area in October. In addition if anybody has done this trip by train and bicycle could they give details of the ferry route they took and the trains in France/Belgium. I'm having a nightmare on the train front :blink:

sorry if this has been posted in the wrong place, i'm a newbie :D

Hello, and welcome to the forum.

If your firefighters don't mind sharing rooms, you should get them all in at the "Kasteelhof t'Hooge" on the Menin Road at ,surprisingly (!), Hooge. If you want to pay more, the "Ariane" should be able to fit them in. I can't say anything about any other accomodations (apart from the camp-site, but I don't know if this is open in October) as these, along with the "Old Tom" (which I don't think has enough rooms for you) are the only ones I've stayed in (the Kasteelhof being my favourite).

As for trains, I've done this many times. I've usually travelled Dover-Calais, then caught the train in Calais to Lille, Lille to Kortrijk, Kortrijk to Ieper. One time, I went from Hull-Zeebrugge then caught the train Zeebrugge-Brugge, Brugge-Kortrijk, Kortrijk-Ieper.

Hope this helps.

Dave.

The Ariane in Ieper is very agreeable.

If you do a search on Ariane, you'll find lots of comments, but try here for starters:

http://1914-1918.org/forum/index.php?showt...13964&hl=ariane

Gwyn

I was at the Ariane last weekend and stay there on my annual trip to Ieper. It caters for groups but does tend to get booked up so you should try and book well in advance. I normally try to book at least 3-6 months in advance.