Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

24th Bn, AIF; April-May 1918

headgardener

A man I'm researching for a war memorial was killed in action serving with the 24th Battalion AIF. He joined the battalion on 26th April 1918, and was killed about 3 weeks later on 19th May 1918.

I'd like some advice on finding details of this battalion during this very short period; where were they? what were they doing? is there a war diary or a battalion history? etc.

In case anyone's interested, his name was Donald Farquhar MATHESON, and his CWGC details are HERE. I've already checked his online service papers, and found a short death notice in The Argus (Melbourne), but I'd be interested in any further sources of info. Before joining up he was living in Cororooke, Victoria.

Thanks in advance.

Robert,

Thanks so much for such a quick response! I've never done any Australian war diaries before, so I just wasn't sure where to start. Now I know.

Looks like he was killed in a big attack at Ancre.

I'd be grateful for any other suggestions regarding sources (official or unofficial histories, battalion rolls, biographies, etc).

HG,

Australian records are available at the AWM (www.awm.gov.au) and FREE. These records were made available some years ago as a "gift to the nation" and cover all aspects of Australian involvement.

If you require personnel documents the web site will transfer you to the NAA web site (National Australian Archives) from whence you follow the links. Still FREE. Pity some other unnamed governments

couldn't have done the same.

David

David,