Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Highland Division Flash

john gregory

Could any member tell me if this HD flash is 1st WW or 2nd WW and how can you tell which is which, thanks.

post-20062-020837100 1281437570.jpg

post-20062-013696100 1281437636.jpg

Based on no evidence whatsoever, I'd say WW2. I've no idea why I say that: it just looks it to me!

Not really my field but in McCarthy's book, " The Somme: Day by Day account", he uses little 'logos' when referring to the divisions. How accurate these are, I do not know but the ' H ' in his logo is different to the one you have shown.

I'm no expert on this area, but the HD logo reproduced in the table in Michael Chappell's 'The Somme, Crucible of a British Army' (scan below) is identical to that used by Chris in his book, suggesting that these represent the pattern in use in the Great War. As these differ from the patch posted by John, this suggests his might be of later date.

HD.jpg

George

Based on a website about The Reel of the 51st, where WW1 and WW2 versions of the flash are shown, I suggest that the one shown in post #1 is from WW2, after the re-formation of the division. That site states that the sign used in WW1 was also used up to the fall of France.

D

I read somewhere that the 51st used a different sign in 1939/40 - a stag's head, or antlers or something. The reason for this was to prevent the Huns from identifying the division by it using the old sign.

In the GW they were known as "Harper's Duds"; in the second they were called "The Highway Decorators" for their habit of painting the HD sign everywhere.

Just to confuse the issue even more the following is in, 'Divisional and other Signs' by Wheeler-Holohan 1920.

Picture the same as George shows.

This sign explains itself,'HD' for Highland Division, but the H is rather carefully camouflaged. Another variation of the sign was sometime seen in which the H, while attached to the D, was in full block type.