Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

M Collins Gordons

War13Memorial

Michael [also known as Mitchell] Collins S/10003 Gordon Highlanders. Died 24/11/1918. Theatre of Death - Home. I presume this means not his home but home in the UK. Can I find out where he died ?. There appears to be no death certificate. Did he die in a military hospital, barracks or somewhere else military ?.

I'm no expert, but I think I've seen reference to this also covering "home waters" so going down at sea is included.

A 22 year old Michael Collins died in Huddersfield in the 3rd quarter of 1918 but can't tell if it's your man or what he'd be doing in West Yorkshire.

He has 2 MIC's

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/search-results.asp?searchtype=browserefine&query=last_name%3dcollins|scope%3d10013&catid=10&pagenumber=1&querytype=1&mediaarray=*

so he served in a theatre of war. The N Collins card records his 14-15 Star and has "Died on or since 24/11/18".

John

Thanks for your response - I am quite happy with the M Collins I have, it is the definition of Home that I am interested in. Soldiers who died in the Great War says "Theatre of War - Home and Death Location - Home"

Billy.

I'm no expert, but I think I've seen reference to this also covering "home waters" so going down at sea is included.

A 22 year old Michael Collins died in Huddersfield in the 3rd quarter of 1918 but can't tell if it's your man or what he'd be doing in West Yorkshire.

BS

Remember that this was the time of the Spanish 'Flu pandemic,which killed more people in a few months than the whole of the Great War managed.

Sotonmate

Thanks for the response. Yes I am aware of how terrible the Spanish Flu was, to survive the War and then die with the flu - hard to comment. Are there no death certificates for these servicemen [and women] who died in a military facility recorded as HOME. Surely everyone had a death certificate - maybe not ?.

Billy

BS