Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Any other medals?

joee86

At home we have my great grandfathers medals. 1914 star, British, victory and MM. However, im starting to wonder if he was entitled to any more? He served from 1906-1925. Serving in India 07-12, S.Africa 12-14, France 14-18 and India 21-25.

Any ideas on any other service medals?

Cheers,

Joe.

Google India General Service Medal, gives a lot of information, he may be entitled to this at least. Ralph.

I am no Cavalry expert, but having had a quick glance in my copy of Gordon's British Battles and Medals, I cannot see that the 4th Hussars were present at any of the post WW1 campaigns in India.

As he served into the inter war years, have you contacted the MoD to discover whether his Service Papers have survived? That would certainly answer your question.

Details on how to apply is shown at the following link.

http://www.veterans-uk.info/service_records/service_records.html

Hope that helps

Cheers

Sepoy

What was he doing between 1918 and 1921 ? ,just asking for continuos service IE LSGC :unsure: :unsure:

MC

Just to say that I have re-read Gordon's British Medals and the 10th Hussars served on the North West Frontier during 1908, so your Great Grandfather may be entitled to an Indian General Service Medal (Edward VII) with North West Frontier 1908 clasp!

Sorry I missed this yesterday.

Regards

Sepoy

Sorry 27th BN i don't understand the last part of your post.

But I will try to answer what he was doing though between 1918-1921. I don't have his service record with me but I have my shortened summary.

He was shot in 1918 and went back to the UK. On 22/06/19 he continued in service under the Military Service Act 1916, I dont understand what that means.