Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Self-demobilisation...

Stuart Basson

Was this at all common? According to my grandfather's medal index card he (QMS Wilfred Edgar BASSON) deserted from the 8th Lincolns on 6.3.1919. To the best of my knowledge he was one of Kitchener's first 100,000; had apparently been with them since they embarked for France in 1915 and, as far as I know, came through it physically unscathed. As a qualified teacher I don't know how far down the pecking order he might have been, for demobilisation; lower, perhaps, than miners, engineers and the like.

He seemed to have no difficulty picking up his career when he did get home and eventually became a head at a junior school in Bedfordshire: not the most easy career path, you'd have thought, for someone with "deserter" on his CV!

So, does anyone have a thought on how common an occurance this was; how determinedly such men were tracked down at home; what sort of penalty they might have expected if caught and if anyone paid the ultimate price for post-Armistice desertion?

Cheers

Stu

Hi Stu,

Can't help with your question but can help regarding Wilfred's enlistment date.

With your grandfather's service number of 12080 I would put his enlistment into the Lincs as early Sept 1914, sometime around the 4th to 7th.

Jim

Guest Pete Wood

No soldier was shot, after the armistice, for deserting. Only murderers and mutineers were still given the ultimate punishment.

There were lists sent to the local police forces, and his family (next of kin) would, I am sure, have received at least one visit; the military may also have visited his home.

Because of his rank, he would probably not have received a jail sentence. But his wages would have been stopped, and he may have been reduced to the ranks and/or fined. His reason (mitigating circumstances) would be considered, before the verdict was announced.