Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Translations for the un-educated

WATTERS2831

i have no miltary background so whilst researching my gt granfathers military history certain words and phrases have used which i know nothing about , would somebody like to explain in simple terms

attested

cadre

service battalion

"battalion in reserve"

Attested - joined up.

Cadre - usually the element of a battalion left out of an action or attack on which a battalion could be rebuilt if required.

Service battalion - raised for the duration of the War.

"Battalion in reserve" -

Battalion of a Brigade not manning the front line or taking part in an attack but held in reserve to reinforce or replace those that were

as, if and when required.

I'll have first go.

Edit (second)

Attested, took the oath on joining. After that he was a soldier.

Cadre. Tricky. The framework of NCOs and junior officers around which a unit would form. Various meanings but all based on that idea.

A service battalion was one of the New Army/ Kitchener Army battalions.

Battalion in reserve also had a contextual meaning but was what it said on the tin. A battalion which was held back for a reason. It could be at the rear of the battlefield waiting to reinforce where required or it could be part of a reserve unit held out of the front line, in the rear areas for use in emergency.

Attested, took the oath on joining. After that he was a soldier.

Not necessarily "Men who attested under the Derby Scheme were sent back to their homes and jobs until they were called up. They wore a grey armband with a red crown as a sign that they had so volunteered." They had in essence made an oath to come when called for.