Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

200015 Sgt J Simpson 1/4 Northats

Mick Simpson

First mistake, previously posted on wrong forum.

Im New to this research and having looked at a couple of old posts regarding the 1/4 Northants it seems there is plenty of knowledgable help here. And i now have got the bug!!

My Great Granfather, Sgt John (but called Jack) Simpson (The number 200015 is the only match i have found but is not substaiated yet) was at Gallipoli with the regiment where i understand he was wounded (according to the northampton roll of honour) at some point. He went on to Egypt Palestine etc. As i understand it the Regt was there till almost the end of the war? He was Time Expired at some point while there and re enlisted.

We have his medal cards for the usual 3 and the TFEM. Also a copy of the Wos & Sgts photo when they were at St Albans Just before deploying to Gallipoli with his name on the nominal roll. I also have a copy of the Div/Bde/Regt war diary for the gallipoli period which i am currentlly reading.

But a reference from the Northampton Library that My father had, said he went to France and was captured and held in Germany before being released after the armistice and demobilised in 1920. So did he go to a different regiment on re enlisting?

I intend to Visit Kew for medal roll and service record, The Northampton Library and records, and museum at some point. Working abroad at the moment so impatience is getting the better of me for more information!! We also have one surviving daughter (My fathers Aunt) who he is visiting tomorrow. to try and identify him in the picture. And glean any recollections.