Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Guard duty?

janecavell

Please could the uniform experts out there give their verdicts on this photo? I'm waiting for a higher-res copy in the hope that the shoulder titles will become legible, but in the meantime this is the best I've got.

Thank you!

:poppy:

post-55353-1276578171.jpg

Well, Poppy, I'm not an expert by a long way, but I notice that all the men wear the steel helmet, which dates the photo to mid 1916 onwards.

They are all wearing the same kind of ammunition pouches which are not the 1908 pattern webbing which you'd expect to see on a front-line soldier.

Does this mean we are looking at a reserve battalion on Home Service?

It also looks like the Lance Corporal, kneeling left, has a wound stripe on his left cuff.

Are there any clues on the rear of the photo?

Studio name or location, any annotations at all?

Cheers,

Nigel

Hello Nigel

Thanks for your insights, which are very helpful.

At the moment I only have an electronic copy of the picture, with no further details. I'll quiz the owner in case there are any more useful clues and to see if I can get a close-up of the shoulder titles.

:poppy:

Interesting photo. The equipment is Infantry Equipment, Pattern 1914, and the rifle slings are 1914 Pattern as well. This fits is well with an earliest date of 1916, and has been pointed out, was generally used for training and New Army units. The rifles appear to be SMLE Mk. III*. which would have been the very latest model in in 1916. I wonder if a training battalion would have been issued with the latest weapons? I.E. Patt. '14 was (mostly) slowly phased out of service as supplies of Patt. '08 were built up, but it was certainly in use in some units all they way through the War.

And what is the corporal carrying on his left hip? Looks like a half circular bucket.

And what is the corporal carrying on his left hip? Looks like a half circular bucket.