Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

group photo C Sqn 1/2nd Lovat Scouts Beccles 1917

gladys cutajar

Can anyone help identify this unit. They are Lovet Scouts. Did they train in Beccles? Also were they a part of Ayrshire Yeomanry? My grandfather James Graham served in 2/1 Ayrshire Yeomanry. I have a shoebox full of photos- no names on back. Lots more photos to follow. Would appreciate any help as I would love to put names to faces. I am new to GWF. Looks like a great site.

Kind regards

Gladys

post-55905-1276421911.jpg

Welcome to the forum Gladys.

Lovat Scouts were another Scottish Yeomanry unit raised by Lord Lovat in 1900 for the Boer War.

They did have a link to Beccles in the Great War. According to Michael Melville's "The Story of the Lovat Scouts", late in 1914 Lord Lovat raised two second line regiments of Lovat Scouts (2nd/1st and 2nd/2nd). They were composed of older soldiers past active service and from recruits. These recruits eventually provided replacements for the units serving overseas. They were based at Beccles and Lowestoft.

Have you checked your Grandad's records and Medal Index Card to see if he served with the Lovats Scouts at some stage during the war?

I would be interested in seeing photos of the Lovat Scouts.

Have a look through these as well-

http://www.1914-1918.net/lovats1.htm

http://www.1914-1918.net/ayrshire.htm

Scott

Welcome to the forum Gladys.

Lovat Scouts were another Scottish Yeomanry unit raised by Lord Lovat in 1900 for the Boer War.

They did have a link to Beccles in the Great War. According to Michael Melville's "The Story of the Lovat Scouts", late in 1914 Lord Lovat raised two second line regiments of Lovat Scouts (2nd/1st and 2nd/2nd). They were composed of older soldiers past active service and from recruits. These recruits eventually provided replacements for the units serving overseas. They were based at Beccles and Lowestoft.