Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

FC Burrage wih whom did he serve

joka

My apologies if this is the wrong forum but I thought it might be the best place to start.

I have started to research my maternal grandfather's WWW1 record and have very rapidly run into difficulties.

I know he served in the RFC although he didn't join up until called up in 1916. A photograph shows him wearing the uniform of a sergeant. After casting around I managed to find him on an absent voters register and have his service number and his posting with 58th Reserve Squadron which I believe to have been in Egypt when the roll was drawn up. I have always understood him to be an aircraft artificer as he was a mechanic by trade.

I live in Scotland so visiting the records office is difficult and the website I contacted to research for me stubbornly refused to reply to my emails- so I let things slide.

Recently, I idly searched the National Archives and came across the record of an RAF officer with the same surname and initials. The name is not particularly common and I strongly suspect he is my grandfather. However, this record shows a posting to 2a Reserve brigade RFA. Does this mean he left the RAF to join (or rejoin?) the army. Could he have been a gunner in aeroplanes? Were such servicemen in the RAF or Army - of course when it was the RFC it might have been administratively simpler.

Has anybody any information on this area of war service and can anybody decipher the "shorthand" used in this very short record which I have attached?

Any help would be gratefully received.

joka

Sorry but the upload failed it seems it is too large although it seems to be limited to only a few entries. The particular phrase that I would like explained is IS of A under the heading unit which authorised.

joka

joka