Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Captain Frank Mercer Bentley 3/5th LF

Mark Hone

While searching the 'net for something else I came across a page on a medal dealer's website about the MC for his officer which he had for sale. Frank Bentley was an old boy of Bury Grammar School (and Rossall) who won the MC for his conduct during 66th Division's attack on 9th October 1917. Despite an early wound, he led a patrol into Psschendaele village, a month before its eventual capture by the Canadians. He was killed just before the end of the war a year later. The medal was marked 'sold' but I have no idea how long ago that was. I'm not trying to acquire the medal but the dealer's blub implied that it was accompanied by lots of useful supporting documentation. It wasn't entirely clear whether this related to Frank Bentley personally. As I have been researching the school's roll of honour for several years, and have a particular interest in this officer having led battlefield walks of the 9th October attack and visited his grave near Le Cateau on several occasions, I would be intrigued to know if anyone has further details.

LG -

3 August 1917 - http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/302...upplements/8009

2nd Lt. (temp. Capt.) F. M. Bentley to be Lt. (temp.1 Capt.), with precedence as from 1st June 1916. 5th Aug. 1917.

Lt. (temp. Capt.) F. M. Bentley relinquishes temp, rank of Capt. 5th Aug. 1917.

11 September 1917 - http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/302...upplements/9453

Lancashire Fus.—The undermentioned to be actg. Capts. whilst comdg. Cos: — Lt. F. M. Bentley 5th Aug. 1917.

6 November 1917 - http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/303...pplements/11545

Lancashire Fus. — Lt. (actg. Capt.) (additional) F. M. Bentley to be actg. Capt. whilst comdg. a Co. 26th Aug. 1917.

1911:

BENTLEY, Mary Ellen Head Widow born 1856 Oldham Lanc

BENTLEY, Frank Mercer Son Single Newspaper Proprietor born 1882 Bury Lanc