Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

2nd Battalon H.L.I Arras April 1917

stuy

I am reading a great book Walking Arras Battleground however it has little reference to the Highland Light Infrantry so I am not sure that I am looking at the correct battleground.

My interest stems from a great uncle Donald McKinnon Pvt. 13085 who died on the 28th April 1917 and is commemorated on the Arras memorial hence the assumption of Arras battleground. I am interested to know more about this battalons works activity and in particular the action they were engaged in when he was killed.

I have no knowledge of army configurations etc so hence my total ignorance, apologies.

Stu

Hi there Stu here are two link that should give you the information you are looking for.

one is for 2nd btn HLI the other one is for the 2nd division that will tell which battles they were in

http://www.1914-1918.net/hli.htm

http://www.1914-1918.net/2div.htm

I hope this give you the information you need.

Ianander

Mckinnon Donald Private- aged 22.

Army no 13085

2nd btn Highland Light Infantry.

date of death 28/04/1917.

Son of Mr&mrs Murdock Mckinnon.

of Railway Cottage,Morar,Inverness-shire

Memorial - ARRS Memorial - Bay 8.

some extra info Ianander

Stu

2nd HLI were part of 5th Brigade that attacked near Oppy on the 28th April. As usual in these later attacks on the Scarpe the wire was not very well cut but the 2 attacking battalions did make some progress. The 6th brigade on the right, however, were ejected from Oppy Wood and this left 5th Brigade's flank in the air. 2nd HLI had to fall back to the German second line. I will see if I have some more detailed info tucked away somewhere.

Jim

Stu

Here is the day's action out of the diary.