Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

James Tait Noble 45530 H.L.I

lattimer

Hi I am wondering if someone could please help me. I am very new to researching my grandfathers military history and only have a few bits of information.

James Tait Noble

Date of Birth: 19th February 1899 at Fraserburgh

Medal Card Image Reference 230163/43417

M.C.I shows that he was in the H.L.I no. 45530 and also in the Scottish Rifles no. 42992.

It also shows that he was awarded the Victory Medal and the British Medal and was also awarded the Silver War Badge.

We also have a shooting medallion with the inscription 2/1 L.Y won by pte Noble 8-9-17.

According to family memories, he joined up on the 27-02-17 but don't know to which regiment.

We have no idea when he was wounded but the family say that he was mistaken for another soldier and was brought back to England hospitalised at the

Norfolk War Hospital Thorpe Norwich . When what was though was his next of kin came in to visit the mistake was realized. He was discharged from this

Hospital on the 25-2-19 and transfered to a military hospital near North Berwick, Scotland with a severe head wound. It is thought that he was in hospital

for a total of 2 years. He was discharged from the army on the 28-2-19 as no longer fit for duty.

We don't know if the 2 years in hospital was before his discharge date or whether it continued after.

I would be extremely grateful if anyone could help

Laura

other than the MIC on Ancestry can't see any other Army records for James Tait Noble. The MIC might say Sea(forth) Rifles?

Looking on the 1901 Scottish census for James Noble born 1899, two are returned in Fraserburgh. James Tait Noble and James Watt Noble. The latter appears to have died in 1919 after being wounded in 1918 :

http://www.cwgc.org/search/casualty_detail...casualty=326849

Related or possibly the "other soldiers family"?

Laura

Welcome to the Forum !