Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Researching a Scottish Soldier

Ted_Dancin'

Hello all.

I'm new to this but, having read the positive responses to dorel341's recent post, I'm encouraged to seek input on a fairly similar topic:

My ancestry research (via ScotlandsPeople, the General Register of Scotland) has revealed a great uncle I didn't even know existed, born in 1897. His name - David Letham - wasn't particularly common, and the only death record of a David Letham born in 1897 is a soldier killed in 1917. It seems likely to me that this poor soul has to be my great uncle.

However, uncertainty exists because:

(i) I have an elderly uncle – born in the 1920s – who recalls playing with an Uncle Davie (although I suspect/hope that he may be confusing the several Davids in the family at that time).

(ii) The 1917 GROS death record is a scanned extract of a "Return of Warrant Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers and Men of the (Machine Gun Corps) Killed in Action or who have Died whilst on Service Abroad in the War of 1914 to ...". Unlike an ordinary civilian death record, this extract does not record parents' names, address, etc.

So, can anyone tell me – is there more information somewhere that identifies parents or next-of-kin, and address.

I would dearly like for this soldier to be my relative. If I can confirm that link, there is a little patch of ground in a cemetery in Wancourt which I would be so honoured to visit.

Thanks for any guidance or information.

Relative's Details

------------------------

Name: David Letham (otherwise Lathem)

Birth Place: Glasgow, Scotland

Birth Date: 2 Mar 1897

Residence: Glasgow, Scotland

Father: John Lathem

Mother: Mary Welsh

Soldier's Details

---------------------

Name: David Letham

Regiment: Machine Gun Corps

Number: 99297

Type of Casualty: Killed in Action

Place of death: France

Death Date: 30 Sep 1917, (aged 20).

Cemetery: Wancourt British Cemetery