Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private S.Lewis of the East Surreys -'Enlisted at 12'

Guest North One TV

Guest North One TV

Hi All

I am an Assistant Producer with North One Television, a UK Independent Production Company which is part of All3Media group. We produce programmes such as ‘The Gadget Show’ and ‘Fifth Gear’.

We are interested in producing a documentary about the youngest British Soldier to serve at the Battle of the Somme. We gather from historian, Richard Van Emden that the soldier in question was a Private S.Lewis of the East Surreys. He fought at the Battle of the Somme for 6 weeks at the age of 12 – once officials became aware of his age he was shipped back to Britain.

We understand there was an article published in the Daily Mirror entitled ‘Enlisted at 12’ in October 1916. We would very much like to get hold of a copy of this article and any other information which someone might be offer about Private S.Lewis (his first name would be especially useful).

As of yet, this is all we have to go on so any help would be greatly appreciated – please do not hesitate to drop me a line: charlotte.clappison@northonetv.com

Best wishes

Charlotte

This could be tricky.

Only three S. Lewis's figure in the medals index with service with the East Surreys, and two can be ruled out on the basis of facts that appear there (or in the case of one, that he died at the age of 24).

The man who can not be ruled out is Pte 30053 Sydney Clive Lewis - but he was not enlisted until 31 August 1916, which implies he is a conscript. And 12 year olds were pretty unlikely to be conscripted!

There is no surviving service record that I can spot from a quick search that shows any clues re a 12 year old. However Sydney Clive Lewis' file does exist and shows that he was born in 1890.

Does not Mr Van Emden have some supporting information?

I have heard he is an historian who does "research" and all that other clever stuff.