Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

153586 Royal Engineers (?) L.Cpl Thomas McAlister

DarrenMW

Attested 31.8.15 Battersea, London (formerly spent 12 years in Royal Garrison Artillery, T/E 1905?.....not sure what T/E means)

I know McAlister (My Great Grandfather) sailed on the S.S. Viper 20.10.16 Southampton to Havre

I know he was injured in a depot accident 1916 near Rouen when on duty as 'train conductor', returned home, then went back to France.

I'd love to know a bit more about exactly what regiment he was attahced to & perhaps what locations/duties he would have seen.

Have to admit I am a bit of a newbie to this military research, and the numbers and abbrevations used are kind of confusing to me, especially with the RE as I understand they support other regiments.

Sincere thanks in advance for any help or pointing me in the right direction.

It may be Termination of Engagement - i.e. his 12 years (usually 7 on active service & 5 on Reserve) in the Army from 1893 to 1905.

Steve.

Thanks Steve,...was it;

1) common place to have a 12 year period of service

2) If so, common to see it split 7/5 as you mention.

I'm a little confused, because his marriage cert in April 1900 lists him as a tailor? Yet it is without question the same man (the wife/children listed upon attestation are correct)

Also, any idea where I'd find a bit more about breaking down the RE assignments? He was a 'pioneer' initially in WW1.

I suspect that this might be your ma from the National Archives:

Medal card of McAlister, Thomas

Corps Regiment No Rank

Royal Army Service Corps T4/129009 Private

Royal Engineers WR/254805 Private

Royal Engineers 153586 Private