Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Joseph (Joe) Stapleton - help to identify regiment

greatbeanbags

My friend has asked for help to find out more about her grandfather & his war service record please. I am sure GWF members can help her.

He was a blacksmith by profession but if he plied his trade whilst signed up is not known. Perhaps if his regiment can be identified from the various pictures of him in uniform (posted) or if his War Service Record exists she can learn more?

He was Joseph (Joe) Stapleton, born 25 11 1880 at Frithlestock in Devon. He married Edith Scott on 27 10 1901 at Stoke Dameral (near Devonport - Plymouth). They returned to North Devon about 1903 & lived in the area until his death in 1971.

Below are his photos - first one is in a group. He is end of middle row - left as you look at it. He is the only one with what looks like a horseshoe on his sleeve. Second photo is of him alone, horseshoe quite obvious. Third is of the horseshoe & fourth is as close as we can get of the cap badge.

No direct access to Ancestry so if someone could find his medal card or War Service Record & PM to me that would be really appreciated. Thanks. :thumbsup:

post-51610-1269274140.jpg

post-51610-1269274234.jpg

post-51610-1269274338.jpg

post-51610-1269274383.jpg

Shoesmith, RFA - Royal Field Artillery.

Group photo circa 1917.

No oversea's service chevrons.

Thank you CT-Guards - hardly had time to finish the post before you identified his arm & cap badge - fantastic! :D

What do you mean by 'photo manipulation' please - I assume it is repaired/restored?

If he has no oversea's service chevrons does that mean he won't have a medal card? My great grandfather - see my signature - (A/Farrier Sgt/Carriage Smith) served during the war years but didn't go overseas & therefore had no medal entitlement so I'm told.

The man on the very left hand side has overseas chevrons - therefore pushing the picture back into 1918.