Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

no records? (and one who was made to leave for lying about his age)

tjphillips

Hello All

I've just posted this in Units but realise this might be a more appropriate subforum;

I'm just starting out and quickly seem to have reached a dead end. My Great Uncles and Great Grandfather were all in the Royal Scots. I have only been able to find one record - the Medal Rolls Card for GtUncle William Macdonald which shows him to have been a Lance Corporal and then a Corporal No. 23223 in 12th battalion Royal Scots entering France 2nd October 1916. I haven't been able to find any further records (? lost in the London bombing?) and no sign of his or his brother's deaths. Should I be looking somewhere specific as I understand they were both killed? Could Will have changed from Royal Scots without it showing on his medal card?

Andrew was in the rifle brigade in Hampshire in the 1911 census. Does this have any bearing on where I may find his records?

Finally, their father lied about his age (he was born 1868) and when this was discovered he was returned home. Might I find records for him?

I would be very grateful for any help anyone could provide.

Best wishes

Tania

Attached image(s)

post-53942-1268329171.jpg

Hi Tania.

Are you sure that the medal card you have is your uncle? Other William Macdonalds were killed while with the Royal Scots. May be he is one of them.

Can you post any more details? Their parents names, where born / lived etc?

Sorry, it was 2nd October 1915 (not 1916).

Hello

Yes it is definitely Will as my brother has one medal and the saervice number matches.

Will's parents were Andrew Marcus Macdonald (who lied about his age to join) and Annie (nee Salvage). All were born in Brighton, Andrew's father having come down there with the 93rd Sutherland Highlanders.

Oh no not at all. William definitely went to the war.