Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hi. A question re. medals, if I may?

snock

Hi all,

Firstly, please allow me to introduce myself.

I am Pete, a 38 year old supervisor from Aylesbury, and I'm pleased to be here.

Okay, here's the question.

I have bought a set of 'Pip, Squeak and Wilfred' from a guy who's a member on the forum I'm an Administrator on.

The Mons Star, British War medal and Victory medal are stamped "2140 Pte (or) Cpl. B .Aston W. Yorks Reg."

I intend to return them to the family of Corporal Aston, an easier-said-than-done job, I know, but I feel it's important to do. Failing that, I'd like to get some info on him, then request the regiment's museum take them from me.

Can anyone please point me in the direction of finding this info, other than see what the regiment's representatives say when they return my emails?

Any help in this would be gratefully received.

Thanks,

Pete.

Hi Pete,welcome to the Forum.1st up he didn`t get the 14 Star ( Mons ) he had the 14/15 star his name was Bernard and his other numbers are 200544--83426--4524996 all W.Y.R.,and he is my GGrandfather please send to,only kidding :o:D good luck with your quest.

Gary.

P.S. have a Look in The Long Long Trail above ( LLT )

Hello Pete,

Welcome to the forum. I'm sure you will find your time here rewarding. I'll declare my interest right away. I'm a collector of West Yorkshire Regiment medals for the Great War period, but don't worry I won't badger you about the medals!

I would be wary of donating them to the regimental museum. A 1914 Star Trio is a fairly ordinary and pretty common group of medals and if the museum gets them they are likely to be consigned to a drawer, gaining no more than an entry in a catalogue. And be warned, museums often sell donations to fund 'more attractive' acquisitions. If you decide the museum is the place for them, offer them on some kind of permanent loan arrangement.