Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

William Salmon(s)

wizzbang

My Great Grandfather William Salmon,was a horseman by trade in the 1911 Census.

He was born in 1877 in High Beech Essex.

In 1911 he was living in High Beech, Loughton Middx

The only information I have on him was that he served in the great war bringing supplies up to the front line by Wagon...

And that his cap badge may have been an animal !!!!!

It a bit vague....but thats all I have got

Can anybody help..

Cheers Paul.

Paul,

there are some records to a William Salmon b.1877, address given as Beaumont Road, Leyton, Essex. Wifes name was ??Alice

Jon

Paul

Further to Jon's,he didn't go abroad though. He was a Northumberland Fusilier who joined them at Stratford (London E15) on 6.9.1916 with a BII fitness category which wouldn't have taken him to the front for active service.

He later transferred to the Labour Corps (No 427329) and into the 682 Agricultural Company in Northampton,with a fitness of BI. He has no discernable medal entitlements. Maybe the wrong one,there are plentry of others,problem is not somany service records survived a 1940 bombing.

Sotonmate

Paul,

there are some records to a William Salmon b.1877, address given as Beaumont Road, Leyton, Essex. Wifes name was ??Alice

Jon

Cheers Jon will see what I can dig up.........

Paul

Further to Jon's,he didn't go abroad though. He was a Northumberland Fusilier who joined them at Stratford (London E15) on 6.9.1916 with a BII fitness category which wouldn't have taken him to the front for active service.

He later transferred to the Labour Corps (No 427329) and into the 682 Agricultural Company in Northampton,with a fitness of BI. He has no discernable medal entitlements. Maybe the wrong one,there are plentry of others,problem is not somany service records survived a 1940 bombing.

Sotonmate

Cheers Soton....