Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

My SMLE

Ski

Hi all,

I'm new to this SMLE game, but recently decided that i'd like a SMLE Mk III to hang on my study wall. I was after a fairly honest rifle that had seen some service and so wasn’t expecting an immaculate untouched example. I ended up going for this one.

It has matching numbers on bayonet boss, receiver, and rear sight. It has a replacement bolt and i believe it has been restocked as it is a 1912 BSA but does not has the volley sights although it does have the early stock with cut out for the sights. There is no evidence of a screw hole for the dial sight hence why I’m assuming it has been restocked rather than having the sights being removed in service- thoughts?

I've taken a few photos of the numbers/marks and would be interested to hear member’s observations these please?

In the first photo you can see several numbers on the fore stock. The one at the bottom with the "U" above it matches the rifle serial number, i.e. U90265. Would the numbers above refer to a rifle the stock had previously been on or does it refer to something else. My only thought being that all the numbers appear to have the same age about them?

Anyway like I say I would love to hear your thoughts/explanations.

Thanks

post-932-1252708592.jpg

next

next

post-932-1252708807.jpg

post-932-1252708865.jpg

next

post-932-1252708980.jpg

post-932-1252708996.jpg

post-932-1252709052.jpg

post-932-1252709065.jpg

post-932-1252709119.jpg

post-932-1252709191.jpg

post-932-1252709281.jpg

post-932-1252709327.jpg

post-932-1252709338.jpg

post-932-1252709389.jpg

next

post-932-1252709937.jpg

next

Looks nice - any chance of an overall view of the rifle and the BSA markings on the wrist?

Is this a live rifle or has it been deactivated? I assume the latter as you refer to hanging on your wall!