Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

KRRC cap badge

o j kirby

Hello,

Thanks to the forum, I have found that my Grandfather's half brother was in the KRRC. I want to add the correct badges to my collection. Can anyone advise me on avoiding a fake badge, and out of curiosity, how were the badges originally blackened, and did the soldiers have to re-blacken them when the badge got rubbed and the original brass colour came through?

Cheers

Owain.

Dear Owain

I am no expert (I collect ww1 medals not badges), but I think that they were orriginally blackened with boot polish so as to avaid the risk of them glinting at night and giving away a soldiers possition to snipers. The same was done with buttons and buckles on webbing etc...

They would have to re blacken them while in the trenches and polish them for parade etc... But I am no expert.

I will try and find you a link to a badge collectors forum I have seen somewhere

A Martin

o j kirby said:
Hello,

Thanks to the forum, I have found that my Grandfather's half brother was in the KRRC. I want to add the correct badges to my collection. Can anyone advise me on avoiding a fake badge, and out of curiosity, how were the badges originally blackened, and did the soldiers have to re-blacken them when the badge got rubbed and the original brass colour came through?

Cheers

Owain.

Any real KRRC badge you find will have been blackened in production; if it is brass, the blacking has been removed (in error; no-one wore brass [coloured] KRRC badges in the field. They were issued black as is, not brass. The high points of detail would rub, but usually not sufficiently to provide a glinting hazard; boot polish would be only a temporary fix as it would rub off or leave residue on the cap. If sufficiently worn, a soldier would be instructed to buy a new one. Original blackened badges would stand up to quite some wear, and would be matt in appearance.