Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Trying this again.

EllenDean

I'm no expert, but I'd say it's considerably later than 1861. You'd need trade badge experts (Grumpy?), but I think he's a musician and some form of musketry instructor. He also has a three-year(?) good conduct badge, and a collar dog which might be worth enlarging, if possible.

I think it's later than 1861, though.

I'm no expert, but I'd say it's considerably later than 1861. You'd need trade badge experts (Grumpy?), but I think he's a musician and some form of musketry instructor. He also has a three-year(?) good conduct badge, and a collar dog which might be worth enlarging, if possible.

I think it's later than 1861, though.

His name is William Mullen (Mullan). His daughter Elizabeth was born in India in 1861. Thats when we know for sure he was there. How long before or after that is unsure. We are prepared to accept yes it could have been after. Your information is great thank you for your time. Its a great start. As regards enlarging, I've tried everthing to make the collar clearer. I may need an expert in photography to help, not sure even they can, i'll try though. Thanks.

His name is William Mullen (Mullan). His daughter Elizabeth was born in India in 1861. Thats when we know for sure he was there. How long before or after that is unsure. We are prepared to accept yes it could have been after. Your information is great thank you for your time. Its a great start. As regards enlarging, I've tried everthing to make the collar clearer. I may need an expert in photography to help, not sure even they can, i'll try though. Thanks.

Also if it helps the family is Irish origin, so it maybe an Irish regiment.

Looks like 1890's. Difficult to see detail on the collar badges.

Scott

Broomers drew my attention to this alternative thread!

Yes bandsman, yes Marksman, yes one three-year [or just possibly two if later] good conduct badge.