Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Identification of Uniform and Regiment

kidneybean

Any Help with this photo would be greatly appreciated. Identification of uniform and Regiment needed, any help with chevrons on sleeve and badge on pocket of tunic near left hand.

post-46822-1248973317.jpg

Hello 'freeform'..

What badge on what uniform pocket?.. there isn't one. The sleave chevrons however are over seas service chevrons, and they look to be post 1914 = blue only. The uniform is that of a mounted unit.. RE's Driver, RFA, AOC Driver? I'm no uniform expert, but the mouted link is very deffinate.

Seph

post-46822-1248976598.jpgThanks Seph, there is a woven badge below pocket flap and left hand just visible on original but not clear, may be artillery field gun!Another photo same soldier but probably a few years earlier any help appreciated

The second photo: it is not a Royal Artillery cap badge - wrong shape, but the bandolier and riding crop mean he was in another mounted corps.

On the earlier photo, I cannot think of any badge that would be worn on the lower pocket of a tunic. A gun badge above three chevrons on the upper arms would be worn by a sergeant in RHA, RFA or RGA, but probably nobody else, and not low down on the tunic.

Are the medal ribbons identified? [not my field].

D

I looked at the first photo after enlarging it and there is no badge that I can see by the l/ hand jacket pocket and hand.

Judging by the difference in age and stature of the chap between the two photo's, and the fact that he has been promoted in rank, I would guess that the first is post war, and the second is during. Having said that, the service chevrons now make sence, as do the medal ribbons = 1914/15 Star, War Medal, Victory Medal?

Seph

I think you are right on the medals although enlarging the picture doesn't make them any clearer.