Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Dvr. Lawrence Moss Simpson 20436 R.F.A. 10th Heavy Bty

johnpetermoss

Hi as a newbie I've found the information on the site very helpful researching my father's cousin's death on 19/7/1915 but found differing documented facts.

C.W.G.C. states he's remembered on the Helles Memorial Panel 21 & 22 this ties in with our family oral history that says, he died when the ship carrying him was sunk off Gallipoli.

Ancestry states he died of wounds, theatre of war Antwerp, this ties in with another line of the family whose oral history says, he was kicked by a mule and died from his injuries.

MIC shows D of W the other info on the card states Egypt, Lawrence is spelt Laurence but his service number is the same. :huh:

Any ideas please.

Helo Hallam Lad, welcome to the Forum.

You can ignore the Antwerp. It is from a well-known error that Ancestry have made when loading up the "Soldiers Died in the Great War" database. I'm sure you'll get loads of help with his story.

Hi Chris thanks for the welcome and the info on Ancestry, that rules out one line of thought.

Like you I thought there might have been more replies, maybe the post heading doesn't work.

One of the headings "Died at sea, buried at sea" may explain why Lawrence is remembered on the Helles Memorial.

I need to confirm that the R.F.A 10th Heavy Bty was at Gallipoli?

Was the Egypt the theatre of war for Gallipoli?

Peter

Welcome Peter,

Perhaps it is because there are some anomalies here that is stopping members from contributing, the CWGC phrase ‘10th Heavy Battery’ is rather confusing as that indicates a Royal Garrison Artillery battery rather than an RFA one.