Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Major Edwin Bedford Steel RAMC 1871-1914 Attached 20th Field Ambulance

Jessica S Fox

Hello,

I am new to this web site but I have been researching my family history for over 4 years. I wonder if anyone can help me regarding records of the 20th Field Ambulance and the 1st Cavalry Division.

My great great grandfather, Major Edwin Bedford Steel, was with the 20th Field Ambulance from August 1914 to about mid October, then he was promoted to Assisant Director of Medical Services (I think that was the full title) with the 1st Cavalry Division from mid or late October till November 23rd 1914.

On that day, he and a fellow officer, a French Liasion Officer called Baron Captain Le Jeune, were walking along a road in La Clytte, (French/Belgium border area). A shell hit them; Edwin had a shattered left arm and shoulder and a wound in his leg, whilst Le Jeune had a shell through him and a wound in his head.

Ages ago I had read that a colleague was quoted as saying later that Edwin;

'hadn't grumbled about being wounded; he seemed more concerned about his fellow officer, Le Jeune'

This struck me and I wondered for a long time what became of Le Jeune.

Edwin died on the way to the hospital and Le Jeune died at the hospital. I found much of this information out recently through a book by Frederic A Coleman, an American, with the Automobile club (or similar titled group.) Previously I had also found out little bits of information from a Medical Officers Diary, a Mr Hampson, who mentions Edwin several times, often simply as 'CO', as was his rank when with the 20th FA.

I also have Edwin's war diary/day book, but I'd like to discover any additional accounts of this time, of Major Steel and this particular period of the war.

Any information would be most appreciated

Yours sincrely

Jessica S Fox

Jessica