Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Spider of Oz

burlington

Spider of Oz has asked for help re visiting the battlefields. This was posted under Battle Field within the Chit Chat section. Probably should be relocated. No real repsonse since posting.

I have given him the benefit of my knowledge such as it is; can anyone else help please?

All

Further to this topic I am looking at coming over for a look at the Somme/Ypres areas in October 2004.

I am looking at all options (organised tours, hire car etc) and am after some advice, not having been to the area before.

I am particularly after best routes to take and ‘mud’ maps etc, places to stay the lot.

I am obtaining some books (Walking the Somme etc) but if anyone has any personal routes let me know.

From what I have learnt so far I will need a min of 5 days to poke around.

Let the replies begin!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheers

(Thanks Martin)

Spider: I'm far from an expert but here's what's worked for me.

If you're flying in to Paris, rent a car and drive to Ypres. Do Ypres first, then Somme and return to the airport to fly out. For a five day itinerary you might consider the following:

Day 1: Ypres (Museums and 1914-15 focus)

Gheluvelt area (Worcester's attack, Clapham Junction/Inverness Copse positions)

Hooge Crater Museum/Hooge Craters

Sanctuary Wood Museum and Canadian Memorial

Hill 60 and Museum

Zandvoorde Ridge (Household Cavalry positions/memorial)

Boezinge (Diggers' work)

Essex Farm

Day 2: Ypres (1915-1917 focus)

Tyne Cot

Paul Reed's Passchendaele Walk

Spree Farm - Pond Farm - Totenmuhle area (approaches to Passchendaele)

Messines Ridge and Messines Museum and Church

NZ Memorial (Messines)

Day 3: Enroute to Somme

Festubert

Neuve Chappelle

Fromelles

Arrive Somme (go to Musee D'Abris)

As time allows (based on arrival time): Pozieres Windmill, Gibraltar, Butte De Warlencourt areas.

Day 4: Somme