Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

178th Brigade RFA and 7th Notts & Derby

Gloslad

Hi all,

I've got a man here with the number L-42845 and his MIC states 178th brigade RFA.

Could some kind soul please enlighten me as to the "L" prefix, I'm not familiar with this - but I'm also no expert on Royal Artillery numbering.

Also, any info on the 178th Brigade RFA would be useful. The Soldier in question was a Nottingham man who also served before WW1 as number 54 in the 7th Notts & Derby Regt (TA unit).

All help greatly appreciated

Regards - ANDY

The 'L' prefix denotes 'Locally recruited'. The Royal Artillery traditionally recruited nationwide,but in the early part of the Great War it tried a scheme of recruiting locally-raised units. Regards, Dick Flory

Hi all,

I've got a man here with the number L-42845 and his MIC states 178th brigade RFA.

Could some kind soul please enlighten me as to the "L" prefix, I'm not familiar with this - but I'm also no expert on Royal Artillery numbering.

Also, any info on the 178th Brigade RFA would be useful. The Soldier in question was a Nottingham man who also served before WW1 as number 54 in the 7th Notts & Derby Regt (TA unit).

All help greatly appreciated

Regards - ANDY

Andy, about half a dozen of his War Service papers are on "Ancestry", Arthur Leverton, Lived at 90 Eland St, New Basford, Nottingham. Street still there today, Number 42845, Born 1884. Here is one below. BRONNO.

Andy, about half a dozen of his War Service papers are on "Ancestry", Arthur Leverton, Lived at 90 Eland St, New Basford, Nottingham. Street still there today, Number 42845, Born 1884. Here is one below. BRONNO.

Many thanks Bronno - I've just gone through his papers, very interesting. Does anyone have any details on C battery, 178th Brigade RFA? This was his unit from 1916 to 1918.

Thanks, Andy.

• 2 years later...