Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pusieux Trench and Ten Tree Alley

Roger H

Anyone any ideas about the location of Pusieux Trench and whether it was particularly significant? Apparently batteries of the 62nd Divisional Artillery supported an attack by the 63rd Division early February 1917 "when the enemy was driven out of a part of the Pusieux trench and thereby forced to evacuate Grandcourt". Now, I am no expert but I guess that the trench was therefore in the vicinity of Grandcourt! Any details of the trench and/or the incident would be much appreciated.

On 10 February 1917 batteries supported the 32nd Division in a successful assault on "Ten Tree Alley". Again, help on location would be great. Thanks

post-6447-1236534246.jpg

Roger

I am not absolutely sure what the British referred to as Puisieux Trench. This sketch, dated 21 Dec 1916, shows what the Germans called the Puisieux Stellung [Position]. I would describe that as southeast of Puisieux and north of Miraumont and I am not sure that I would mention Grandcourt in the same breath - not that it is all that far away. Ten Tree Alley is best described as, 'between Serre and Beaucourt, about 1,000 metres from Serre', but I do not have a map to post. Perhaps someone else can oblige.

Jack

Jack

Thanks for this - excellent.

Here is Ten Tree Alley, taken from a trench map dated 26.11.16, from the excellent "Linesman" trench map package.You can see it running just above the big letter "K". As with Jack, please PM me if you want a higher resolution map.

This is the link to the CWGC's page on Ten Tree Alley Cemetery. The cemetery lies midway between the top right point of the big "K" and the first "L" of the word "Alley". It's a beautiful spot.

http://www.cwgc.org/search/cemetery_detail...5205&mode=1

Alan

post-2705-1236535301.jpg

Hi Roger