Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Could someone help please

nareynolds

I am a complete novice at this and new to this forum, but I'm really impressed by the messages. My interest is in my two army ancestors

The first was Henry Charles Kennedy and I have discovered the following on him

16th The Queen's Lancers L/5157 - Private

Victory, British & 1914 Star Medals.

Silver War Badge issued. Discharged 15/09/1916

Chelsea Pensioner

The second brother was Frederick Robert Kennedy

12/03/1915 Date of entry to WW1 - France. Private in the Middlesex Regiment, promoted to Sergeant (1735). Subsequently Commissioned Officer to Royal Berks Regiment 29/05/1918 (200161)

Any information on either of these or ideas about leads would be very much appreciated

Thanks in advance, Nicola

I am a complete novice at this and new to this forum, but I'm really impressed by the messages. My interest is in my two army ancestors

The first was Henry Charles Kennedy and I have discovered the following on him

16th The Queen's Lancers L/5157 - Private

Victory, British & 1914 Star Medals.

Silver War Badge issued. Discharged 15/09/1916

Chelsea Pensioner

The second brother was Frederick Robert Kennedy

12/03/1915 Date of entry to WW1 - France. Private in the Middlesex Regiment, promoted to Sergeant (1735). Subsequently Commissioned Officer to Royal Berks Regiment 29/05/1918 (200161)

Any information on either of these or ideas about leads would be very much appreciated

Thanks in advance, Nicola

Fascinating story around Frederick I am sure - to start as a private and move through the ranks to become an officer (albeit in a different regiment). Have you looked at his medal card? Does his service record survive?

Regards.

SPN

Maldon

From TNA

Medal card of Kennedy, Frederick Robert

Middlesex Regiment 1735 Private

Middlesex Regiment 200161 Serjeant

Royal Berkshire Regiment Second Lieutenant