Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Turkish Artillery in Gallipoli

Guest _KaaN_

Hello,

First of all, I would like to say "Hi", as I'm a newbie around.. This forum seems great and filled with knowledge. I'm from Turkey and I've been reading about Gallipoli for sometime.

Now,the question;

I found some pictures labeled as "355mm Krupp Gun in Gallipoli" and also a list of artillery in Gallipoli. In the list there were two 355/35,also one 355/22 Krupp guns deployed in Çimenlik. And two more 355/35 Krupp deployed in Rumeli Hamidiye.

Also I read an article about these guns and the numbers in the list are the same with the article.

Did Krupp factory build 355mm Guns at the time?? I know they could have built but I know only one incident about it and no one mentions about Turkish Goverments requests for these guns.

I'm now posting the pics of these guns and the list and ask for your help. ;)

post-5-1079989487.jpg

These pictures are from the navyingallipoli site:

Krupp's 355/35 cannon in Anadolu Hamidiye Fort:

gun09.jpg

Krupp's 355/35 cannon form one of the Dardanelles forts on the exposition of the Military Museum at Harbiye in Istanbul:

gun02.jpg

Also check out these photos: Are they 355mm??

http://www.hpphoto.com/servlet/LinkPhoto?G...e7c915e6e&size=

http://www.hpphoto.com/servlet/LinkPhoto?G...d2bb33469&size=

Best Regards!

Kaan

Hi KaaN and welcome,

A possible answer for you. Krupp developed 14" (35.5cm) guns for the Mackensen class Battlecruisers, which werre laid down in 1915. Not sure of the barrel length. It may have been that a couple of spares were shipped to Turkey?

Will provide more info when I've been to the library. I never seem to have these sources to hand when I want them... :(

Guest richpics5174

Hi Kaan,