Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Machine guns at Gallipoli

John_Hartley

I've read of a battalion receiving two "new" machine guns just prior to going into action at Gallipoli in May 1915. The way it's worded makes me think that, prior to this, perhaps they didnt have machine guns. There's quite a lot of practice with them on the voyage.

So, two questions.

Is this Territorial battalion likely to have MGs before this (and, therefore, "new" means replacement or additional)?

And, are they likely to have been Lewis or Vickers guns?

TIA

John

John

I'm far from an expert on weapons but I think some Territorial units - and some Regulars - still had old maxim machine guns at the start of the war. Don't think lewis guns were available at all when the Gallipoli campaign started, so my guess would be that this is a reference to the replacement of the old maxims by vickers machine guns.

I'm sure others more expert will be able to give you a more definitive answer.

Cheers,

Jim

Lewis guns first became available to the infantry in the summer of 1915 which I think is just too late for your unit.

Is this Territorial battalion likely to have MGs before this (and, therefore, "new" means replacement or additional)?

John

The TF battalions with which I am familiar did have MGs so I would guess "new" does indeed means either replacement or additional.

Chris

Kim - I hadnt read that thread before. As you say, quite fascinating. Who would have thought that there would be nearly 400 posts discussing whether or not the Turks had machine guns during the opening hours of the initial landings.

Thanks to others - looks as though this must be "replacement" (I now have a diary reference to the MGs being brought up to the firing line and there's only two mentioned).

John

When did the compliment of 2 MGs per battalion get increased?