Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Herbert Wagstaff RFA

mahonec

I am trying to track my Grandfathers war journey. I have found the MIC (attached) but am confused since we knew he worked with horses in the artillery, and had always thought he was in the RHA. He was a London Horse drawn omnibus driver before (and after) the Great war, and it was this experience with horses which led him to work with horses in the war.

The only thing I know was that he talked a lot about "wipers" - but I had assumed that all the soldiers went to Ypres. Mum thinks that she also heard him talk about Vimy Ridge.

Any help would be very gratefully received - I am new to all this and finding it hard to negotiate.

Thanks

Chris Mahoney

post-40590-1226937784.jpg

Hi Christine

WELCOME to the forum, He was a Gunner (Gnr) in the RFA. The guns were drawn by horses. Will look on Ancestry for his service records. Loads of experts will give you answers to where, when etc.

Regards Barry

Have checked , no service records but Pension records for a Herbert from Barrow in Furness Army Service Corps(267676).

Hi Christine

WELCOME to the forum, He was a Gunner (Gnr) in the RFA. The guns were drawn by horses. Will look on Ancestry for his service records. Loads of experts will give you answers to where, when etc.

Regards Barry

Have checked , no service records but Pension records for a Herbert from Barrow in Furness Army Service Corps(267676).

Thanks for that - no, I think his records must be in the 'burnt' records that were lost in WW2. Grandad was London born, bred, lived and died! Would still appreciate any help from any of the experts about the where's and what's of his journey. I have looked up Vimy Ridge, and this seems to have been mostly a Canadian Army offensive but with reinforcements from the British Artillery ( "the Big Guns") so that is quite a likely possibility.