Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Sherwood Foresters puzzle

mikebriggs

As many of you know I have a great interest in the 6th Battn Sherwood Foresters and over the last few years I have been gathering together a collection of photos for a 'Pictorial History 1908-1915'.

Anyway, thought that I had two unconnected photo's...........but maybe not B)

The first is taken in 1912 at the Annual Camp in Wales. It was sent by 'HDR' in Bakewell to Miss Turnall. I think that ‘HDR’ might be Sergeant Henry D Rye, who was an architect by trade and lived at 47 Castle Street in Bakewell.

post-4619-1226868552.jpg

The second photo I think is taken at annual camp in Scarborough (where else is that flat B) ) and shows a Maxim Gun Section

post-4619-1226868818.jpg

.........and on those two photos is this man.......

post-4619-1226868956.jpgpost-4619-1226868968.jpg

do you think he's the same man (and he might even be 'HDR' B) ) ??????

Looks the same guy to me, his left ear (on our right) appears to be exactly the same on the 2 photos, his nose also suggests to me it is the same guy

Hi there,

I'm certain he's the same man, cheek bones and fold under the eyes, in particular under the left eye are identical. and the dimple in the chin.

Best regards

Hello again,

Are ther others in the photo which look identical as well, (or have I been looking at this for to long)!!!

Regards

Dear both

thanks for the confirmation; I think he's same fella too B)

CT, as for the others, I've not really thought about that but you might be right.

On the first photo I cut off a horse, makes you wonder why they had a horse in the photo and if it is the Machine Gun Section in both pictures taken in 1912 and 1911 respectively.

Will have another look in detail

cheers

Mike

• 2 weeks later...