Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with V.A.D Service locations please

brett361975

I have just received the service records from the Red Cross of C Lowry V.A.D.

Can anyone help me with the locations she served at please.

This is my first attempt to research a V.A.D Nurse so please bear with me.

Constance Lowry lived in Coleraine in Co.Derry in Ireland.

Her V.A.D member number was 24768

The Commission or Department or County is given as Derry b.

She enrolled on November 28th 1914 and was selected on May 21st 1915 as a Nurse / clerk.

She was posted on the 12th October 1915 to the 1st Western Gen Hospital Liverpool.

She was mentioned for Services and received a commendation on the 20th October 1917 and recommended for Assistant nurse on 27th March 1919

She also served at 12 0r 121 Western General Hospital.

Service is also seen as a worker at W.H.S Depot Coleraine from December 1917 to 30th November 1918.

Transfered to France on the 8th October 1920 to the Stationary Hospital A.P.O S7 B.E.F France.

Any help with these locations would be much appreciated, also any information on the Derry detachment of the V.A.D would be gratefully received.

Regards

Brett

Brett

No.1 Western General Hospital was opened at Fazakerley Hospital, Longmore Lane, soon after mobilisation in August 1914. There were only three Territorial Force Hospitals with the name ‘Western General’ and the other two were in Manchester (No.2) and Cardiff (No.3). No.1 WG would have had satellite auxiliary units, but I don’t know what ‘12’ or 121’ refers to – I suppose it can’t be bad writing for ‘1st’?