Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Alexander FLEMING

Neil Clark

I have been investigating this case since 2001 and STILL have not much. The Ashford Grammar School lists him in their Book of Remembrance as follows - Alexander FLEMING (attended school 1908-1912), London Scottish Regiment.

His brother Frank FLEMING MM is mentioned below his entry (and he does has a CWGC listing). You will note that he too is listed as London Scottish when in fact he died as a Gordon Highlander. Here is his CWGC entry -

Second Lieutenant Frank FLEMING MM. 4th Battalion, Seaforth Highlanders (26th Brigade, 9th Division). Formerly Gordon Highlanders. Formerly (N.C.O)(1717) 14th Battalion (London Scottish), London Regiment. Killed in Action 11th April 1918. Resided 22 Stuart Road, Acton, London. Born 15th October 1894 at Manor Farm, Guildford, Surrey. Son of Alexander and Mary Fleming of Manor Farm, Guildford, Surrey. Brother of Winifred Fleming of 6 Coleville Square, Bayswater, London. Brother of Mrs B Kenny of 44 Stanhope Gardens, Kensington, London. Brother of Percy Fleming of 7 Glengall Road, Brondesbury, London NW6.

The school book of remembrance lists Frank’s unit incorrectly as the 14th (London Scottish) Battalion, London Regiment. Frank did serve in this regiment as a Private soldier. It was probably with the London Scottish that Frank won his MM. This is where the confusion arose. The school obviously thought that Frank was still serving with this unit when he was killed.

From what I can see Alexander FLEMING NEVER served in the London Scottish! How he came to be recorded like this is a total mystery. If I can't establish a link between him and his war service then I will be forced to finally bin it once and for all. Here is what I have managed to find out about him (and his brother) -

FLEMING A – Attended school from 17th January 1908 to Christmas 1912