The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

MIC Leicester Regt - unusual reference?

Gloslad

Hi all

I’ve obtained the MIC for my Gt Grandfather but am baffled by the references on it. The man in question is Sgt Robert George Isaac, number 202459, Leicester Regt.

The MIC gives his service dates as Oct 1914 to Jan 1919, but no reference to any medals rolls – or at least none that I’m familiar with. I don’t believe he served overseas but was expecting to see a reference to a BWM??

There is just one reference on the MIC - “List F/A/1389” and it’s in the row entitled “Action taken

I’m no expert in this field so would be grateful for any advise from the Forum

Many Thanks

Andy

Again, no expert either but I thought a man who didn't serve overseas got no medals at all.

However, I think the reference to List F/A/1389 is actually regarding a Silver War Badge, it seems to ring bells as one of the codes used the Lichfield record office. This may explain the MIC as well as there were sometimes 2 cards, one for medals and one for the SWB or, if no medal entitlement, just the one MIC for the Silver War Badge.

Hope this helps

James O'Hara

Andy,

I have a copy of page FA/1359. All of the entries served overseas, some were discharged due to sickness, some wounds. If you give your Gt. Grandfather's name I will transcribe his entry. (Added -)

Only Sgt on page is:

Sgt, FRAKE Joseph Arthur, Leics, B287028, enlist 02/09/1914, discharge 11/08/1919, Wounds Para 392 (XVI), Yes (served overseas) B2079

Regards,

Stuart

The "S" on the SWB card would indicate "Sickness" as a cause of discharge.