The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

access by foreigners to british training camps denied?!

terwaan

hello everyone,

I'm doing my PhD on the British and Allied Soldiers Evangelistic Campaign, founded by the Americans Ralph C. Norton and Edith Norton-Fox.

In the early years of the Great War they visited the Training Camps with the Y.M.C.A. whilst they were with the Chapman-Alexander Simultaneous Campaign in the UK. When the team went on with their regular campaigns in the US, the Nortons wanted to keep on evangelizing the British (and foreign soldiers) in coöperation with the UK YMCA.

To set up their organization and to raise funds they went to the USA from December 29th 1914 until June 29th 1915.

Upon their return to the UK they were confronted by new regulations that restricted access to the military training camps to UK citizens only. Apparently this measure/law was withdrawn some time later in 1915.

I am looking for the exact name and text of this law/measure, and from when until when this law/measure was in effect.

Is there anyone who can help me with this?

Thanks from Zeebrugge (Belgium)

good suggestion, but the timeframe does not fit.

This law came in force in august 1914. At that time Norton could enter the camps without a problem.

So it must be an act or measure that must be passed or became working from January 1 1915 on and before mid July 1915

I don't think that it would have to be enshrined on law - an instruction from the army command that non British Citizens are barred from the camps issued as a standing order would be sufficient. Army training camps are not and were not public spaces with an automatic right of entry to non military personel so the army could decide who they wanted to let in or not bythemselves.

DORA was amended and expanded on numerous occasions during the war. You might try searching Hansard (the record of British Parliament) for the timeframe in question.