Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Possible non-commemoration

Lost in Tilloy

I’ve been researching the Great War Memorial at Corstorphine in Edinburgh and have come across a couple of cases that might potentially be non-commemorations. The first man I would like to put forward for consideration is:

Private 1325, Alexander Blaikie, 7th Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders, died 23/11/1916.

Pte Blaikie’s service records exist in WO364 and are on Ancestry.co.uk. His medal card exists also and reveals that he was awarded the 1915 Star, BWM and VM, having entered France as his first theatre of war on 18/02/1915. His medal card also states ‘Dis: 09/10/1916.’

Pte Blaikie was born in Corstorphine in 1891 and he was an engineer by trade. The death certificate from the Registrar General for Scotland states that the cause of death was ‘Paraplegia from Gunshot wound 1½ years.’ He died whilst in the care of Ralston House in Paisley, which I believe was a home for paralysed soldiers and sailors. His parents were Thomas and Jane Blaikie of 18 Forth Street, Alloa although the family address at the time of his death looks as though it was 33 Fenton Street, Alloa.

He had enlisted into the 7th A&SH on 09/02/1911 at Alloa. He was mobilized on 05/08/1914 and went to France with his battalion on 18/02/1915 and subsequently received a gunshot wound in the back on 25/04/1915 whilst his unit was attacking Hill 60. The bullet spilt his spinal cord.

He was cared for in a number of hospitals and was finally discharged under Para 392 XVI King’s Regulations on 27/09/1916. A report from a Medical Board states “In action 25.4.15 at Hill 60. Total paralysis of movement from hips to toes.” The report goes on to describe the man’s terrible situation and bodily suffering which no doubt contributed to his death [Cystitis. Inflammation of bladder. Septicaemia].