Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Navy service numbers

purley

I have been processing the Reading Absent Voters list for 1923 and this gives names, addresses and service details.

All the Royal Navy and Royal Marine personnel have a number preceded by a prefix - what do these signify?

So far I have found J M Po K 2L L SS DM Ch E Ply

Are the numbers all in one series with varying prefixes or does each prefix signify a separate number series?

John.chapman@purley.eu

John, further to Joseph's info in PRO ;

Number prefixes work - for ;

Chatham CH - hence CH/ 123456

Portsmouth P - hence P/ 123456

Plymouth (Devonport) D D/ 123456

And could be CH/J 12345 for Seaman Class - P/K 12345 for Stoker. Etc.

Sadsac

I have a man with a Z prefix (joined in 1918). I can't find that listed on the PRO link?

For Royal Marines:

Ch for Chatham

Ply for Plymouth

Po for Chatham

The letter prefixes for originating home port did not become part of the Navy's Official Number system until after 1923.

Charles,

Sorry for the delay replying - not by the computer! He joined the Volunteer Reserves.

Bob

He joined the Volunteer Reserves.

His service number would have an additional letter in front to designate what part of the country his RNVR unit was allocated to; this has been left off of the UKNA listings of RND personnel.

Here is the UKNA guide to their numbering:

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalog...?sLeafletID=152

Edited by per ardua per mare per terram

John,

According to the list referenced above

E is the RNVR prefix for the Birmingham Electrical Volunteers. It can also be used in service numbers for the Royal Naval Reserve (then a completely different organisation).

Thanks, Per Ardua..., I know he was in training at Bristol, so am I right in thinking that the Z prefix was simply for RNVR men who joined during the war, with no reference to their trade?

Bob.