Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Can anybody take a guess at the unit

andiS

This person appears in a photo we have and may be one of my ancestors - the person it is supposed to be served in the Sherwood Foresters and possibly previously in the Queens Royal West Surreys.

If anybody can suggest what the badge on his cap is I'd be grateful

ta

ancdy

post-26364-1196002028.jpg

It's a General Service tunic button, I think. I'm not an expert but I'm sure I have read (here on the forum) that these were used for a time in the absence of proper cap-badges. I'm sure a more knowledgeable Pal will be able to tell us more.

Tom

GS buttons were indeed used as cap badges, but only by the Training Reserve and this is actually mentioned in an ACI regarding their formation. However this looks much darker and appears to belong to a Rifle unit and so would appreciate it if it could be possibly blown up much larger for us to see.

Graham.

The cap buttons also appear black, if the GS button was acting as a cap badge I would have expected a bit more spit and polish. I would like to see the full picture as the coat buttons may come into view.

Hint of Rifles Standing Orders so far.

Gareth

That cloth patch at the top of his sleeve. Can you close-up on it? Looks like it might be the sort worn by some London Regiments...possibly says "QWR" or "CSR" (which might account for the rifle-pattern button).

It's been labeled on the back as Fred Osgood - there is another post on this forum which shows him as having been in 10th Sherwood Foresters and gassed in 1918. However my digging through this heap of family photos so far has given me grave concern that the people whose names are written on the back aren't actually the ones shown in the photos!