Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Turkish Rifles at Gallipoli

bluedog

Pals

My apologies if this has been answered before.

Having spent the best part of this afternoon on Google trying to find

out what was the standard Mauser used by Turkish Infantry during the

Campaign with regard to Model , Calibre ,Magazine capacity etc.I now turn

to the learned Gents on the GWF.

Many Thanks in advance

Peter

Something like this I would imagine ..... my best guess - a "Turkish" Mauser .... :whistle:

(Maybe an 1890, 1903 or 1908 perhaps, with any luck a proper expert will be along shortly.!!)

Cheers, S>S

post-52604-027237800 1284102636.jpg

I'm not a Mauser expert but I have a Mauser that was probably captured at Gallipoli or in Mesopotamia.

It is a 1894 dated 7mm 5 shot bolt action rifle which has engraved in Arabic 'Supplied by Mauser to the Ottoman Empire'. These Mausers were only supplied in 1893 and 1894, but were used in WW1. Those supplied after 1894 were I think (don't know for sure)7.92mm. In 1927 the arsenal at Ankara coverted all the 93 and 94 rifles to 7.92 and modified the receivers. My rifle is completely original spec which is why I think it was captured and brought home. It also has what looks like a sword cut in the woodwork.

John

post-8629-093571200 1284113460.jpg

Nothing doing so had a quick look around myself. Found this basic but useful SITE which may be of some slight assistance. Seems like the main Turk round was the 7.65 x 53, not sure which model Mauser was most predominant at Gallipoli though.

PS. The rifle in foreground of above photo appears though it could be the M1893 (going on lack of pistol grip and shape of barrel/forestock etc)

Cheers, S>S

Nothing doing so had a quick look around myself. Found this basic but useful SITE which may be of some slight assistance. Seems like the main Turk round was the 7.65 x 53, not sure which model Mauser was most predominant at Gallipoli though.