Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

BANKS, Arthur George, SB Stwd, 357129, MID

trajan

Sometimes BWM's and BVM's turn up over here, like this one, issued to somebody with the above service number... I don't have any further details as the name is apparently worn, and nor do I have an ancestry subscription these days, but as I do like to rescue GB things that turn up in foreign lands, I'd greatly appreciate it if somebody could check up on this chappie.

Trajan

Looks like

William Fiddler

Gordon Highlanders, Labour Corps

240056, 357129

Landed France 2 may 1915

Could be others, Ancestry search on service nos is not very reliable

Gosh, that was damn quick! Many thanks!

I just checked with the owner who says there looks to be an 'A.' after the number (and possibly another initials?) but there is no letter before the number so would the latter rule out Arthur Graft, who was 'R 357129'?

Trajan

Is the medal too worn to read the name of the regiment or corps? With that and the number, there should be only one option.

Ron

Apparently so Ron, but would you or anyone else please give me the format of these things? I assume it was standard, and so something like 'number, rank, name, regiment'? If I have that information perhaps I can get some more from the owner.

Julian

Thanks. My contact has produced a photograph, and as things seem legible on this, I am thinking he might be acting for somebody else - Burasi Turkiye, which translates as 'This is Turkey [ - what do you expect?]'! Anyway, any thoughts? I have no experience in these things but if I can save a bit of interesting GB history I would like to do so...

post-69449-0-54982100-1457719457_thumb.j

It appears to be "A. G ......"which would point to

Arthur Graft , ASC, whose MIC shows him entitled only to BWM

His MIC says his number was R 357129, and I have no idea if his medal shows an R or not, or indeed whether the R Would have been included on a medal