Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Soldiers found,what next?

Have a quandry.

Three allied soldiers (more than likely Aus)were found together by a farmer friend who notified the authorities who said someone would be out to collect them.

This was nearly three years ago.In the past,identifiable troops were left in place for collection(& mili funeral) & no tag soldiers were transfered to the Office(trying hard not to mention anyone orginisation here as I'm new to this).A German troop was found ,reported etc.& my farmer mate was told to leave him there,not to drop off any remains,do nothing,to stop informing 2nd office of any new finds.

Does anyone know any officials or anyone who can offer advice as this sticks in my craw a bit.

I dont know if this is posted in the right category & please excuse my coyness as I dont mean to infer shoddiness by any official bodies at all.

I'm back home in France in 8 days for half term so,any links advice etc.will be greatfully received.

David.

The polıce should be ınformed fırst of all.

They wıll ınvestıgate to ascertaın ıf they are war remaıns. If they look lıke Commonwealth, CWGC wıll be ınformed.

I suggest that the local polıce and CWGC Area Offıce ın France are ınformed at the same tıme.

Technıcally the polıce wıll turn over the remaıns to the mılıtary of the country concerned and they pass them to CWGC although, ın realıty, CWGC probably take the remaıns dırect from the polıce.

Don't post the locatıon on the Forum untıl thıs has been done.

Let us know what problems are encountered. It ıs hard to be more defınıte wıthout more detaıls about to whom they were reported.

• 2 weeks later...

May I ask if there is any further movement on this issue. Has it rung any alarm bells with CWGC? Has it been formally reported? I hold the CWGC in the highest regard and would like to see clarity on this subject.