Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Repetitive WWI film clips on TV news

Moonraker

There are two short film clips of the trenches that seem to be shown on national TV news programmes every time the Great War is mentioned. The other day both were shown in the same news item about pardons for British soldiers shot for cowardice. The two clips are:

1. Soldiers "going over the top", with one laggard apparently being shot and sliding back into the trench.

2. Bare-headed soldier carrying a wounded comrade over his shoulders along a trench and (I think) glaring resentfully at the cameraman.

I'm no expert on WWI film, but the first clip looks as if it might have been staged for the cameraman (and I've a feeling it's been discussed before in the Forum). My point is that news programmes must have much more archive material to draw from - perhaps the two above are on the topof the pile, or list, or whatever?

Moonraker

Don't forget the one with the soldiers advancing into the mist and one of them falling on the right hand side.

Jon

In their -relative- defence, maybe it is a matter of paying rights to the keepers of the image: it is likely that they resort to the few images they have in their stock rather than pay to the IWM or any other moving image sources for new material.

Gloria

I don't think it's laziness, its' partly the lack of footage able to make instant impact, and as Gloria has said, it also costs money.

Terry Reeves

I believe that all three clips described come from the film "The Battle of the Somme".

The thing to realise is that the bods that have to find clips to accompany such news pieces are working to a deadline. The editors probably know 'not a lot' about the Great War (and may well care less) and these are the easiest clips to lay hands on in their very limited time frame, leaving them more time to edit other pieces.

I just wish that they'd extent their film-clip library.