Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What are these uniforms?

wilkokcl

This photograph shows my great grandfather and i'm hoping somebody can tell me more about any information it may contain.

He is third from the right and why is his cap badge different to the others?

i'm new to this research game so any clues as to the insignia, badges, possible location or date would be much appreciated. His medal card says:

Name: Gilbert G. Hayward

Corps: R. Fus Pte 3547

Corps: MGC 249508

Theatre: (1)

Entry: 25-9-15

Victory Medal & 1915 star and written under that what could be "Dwp Sub" (?)

Thanks,

Mark.

Hi

Your G/G was in France on 25th Sept 1915. No1 in Theatre is France hes unit was the Royal Fusiliers as for the Batt it may say it on the MIC. The medals are 1915 Star British War Medal (BWM), Victory Medal ( VM). at some point he transfer to the MGC. if you can post the medal card it may give us some more info. cheers themonsstar

The website says P and not 2: writing on the original is not clear. I'll scan the original in when I've worked out how to reduce the size a bit!

Medal card of Hayward, Gilbert G

Corps Regiment No Rank

Royal Fusiliers 3547 Private

Machine Gun Corps P49508 Private

Date 1914-1920

Mark

Hi

Hes Cap bagde is Royal Fus the rest are all Machine Gun Corps. The MGC was created in 1915 and disbanded in 1922.

OK then, I can READ he was RF but I challenge anyone to tell from the cap badge!

Hi hes MIC says he was RF the bagde is a Grenade with Flames two and two R Fus Bagde what would you say it is

Mark,

Apart from the cap badges being MGC, will notice the funny shoulder title, which is actually the letters "MGC" in brass over the letter "I", which stood for the Infantry branch of the Corps.

The same title can also be found worn above the letters "C"(Cavalry); "M"(Motors) and "H"(Heavy Branch).

Graham.