Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed for imaginative reconstruction of Observation Post nr. Bea

KathyP

I’m a writer interested in the story of Edward Thomas, who died in action on April 9th 1917.

He was in 244 siege battery. This enquiry is about the construction of an allied observation post near Beaurains, April 1917. It was S of Arras, about half a mile W of Telegraph Hill.

According to biographer Matthew Hollis:

“Thomas started late for the observation post and had not rung through his arrival when the bombardment began…. two hours later, he left the dugout behind his post and leaned in to the opening to take a moment to fill his pipe. A shell passed so close to him that the blast of air stopped his heart..”

I don’t have any military background which hampers me in trying to see the OP in detail in my mind’s eye, as if I was making a film of it (though I’m not, just need to see it in order to write the story!). How would this post have been constructed? How big? Is it likely to have been a trench, behind the guns, a little higher up? With some kind of protective parapet, if so, made from what? Or?? Would Thomas have been using field glasses? A periscope?

And, very importantly, what is "the opening" to which Hollis refers?

The “opening” is previously referred to in an eye witness account recorded in a memoir by Eleanor Farjeon. She reports a sergeant who saw him die saying, “Mr Thomas came out form the dug out behind his gun and leaned into the opening to fill his pipe.”

I also need to understand the relationship between the Observation Post and the guns: how far away? Hollis writes that on the 7-8 April “the heavy guns of 244 siege battery stood wheel to wheel on the sunken road before the quarry that ran parallel to the front.”