Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Can anyone identify this memorial - probably Ypres Salient

johntaylor

Hi, after the success of my last inquiry I would be grateful for help in identifying another mystery photograph.  This is from the album of a soldier's post-war visit and shows a newly built memorial, presumably to a division or some such.  The other photos show Ypres and the Salient so this may well be in the same area.  Unfortunately the reproduction isn't very good but hopefully it's clear enough to make out.

I've been through various guidebooks but have drawn a blank.  Any ideas gratefully accepted.

Thanks, John 

Memorial 1 for GWF.jpg

Edited by johntaylor

Isn't this the original memorial on Hill 60?

Jan

Hi John

I'm no expert but I'm with Jan; it looks like the Queen Victoria's Rifles Memorial on Hill 60,

Pete.

Looking at the picture of the QVR memorial in "Before Endeavours Fade" (page 48 of edition 4 and page 63 of edition 14) it looks at lot different. As the QVR memorial was rebuilt is this the original?

regards

Indefatigable

28 minutes ago, John_Hartley said:

By the by, why was the memorial rebuilt?

There was very heavy fighting there late May 1940 (some of the shell holes on Hill 60 etc. date from this period, also the anti-tank round visible in the bunker). I guess the memorial was just damaged in this fighting (you can still see the bullet holes in the nearby Australian memorial as well).

Jan

2 minutes ago, AOK4 said:

There was very heavy fighting there late May 1940 (some of the shell holes on Hill 60 etc. date from this period, also the anti-tank round visible in the bunker). I guess the memorial was just damaged in this fighting (you can still see the bullet holes in the nearby Australian memorial as well).

Jan

The damage was not done by my father, he fought in an AAA battery at Hill 60 1940 :ph34r:

24 minutes ago, John_Hartley said:

By the by, why was the memorial rebuilt?